Company history

2005

Renaud de Watteville and Jean-Francois Treyvaud are developing a first prototype of an affordable and decentralized water treatment solution.

2008 - 2011

Creation of Swiss Fresh Water SA. Entry of the first investors. Collaboration with the mechanical workshop “Hentsch and Bovey” on machine development.

2011

The first two pilot machines are installed in Senegal. The project gets off the ground and triggers the development of an adapted business model that reconciles economic profitability, improved health and well-being of local populations, transfer of know-how and job creation.

Production of the first 20 machines (model Delta 2).

2012-2018

Deployment of the first 20 machines in Senegal from 2012.

Development of 3 new generations of machines (model Delta 4, 5 and 6).

The Access to Water Foundation is created and the two entities Access to Water and Swiss Fresh Water jointly ensure the deployment of water kiosks in Senegal, with a significant impact :

- 30 million litres of drinking water sold in 2018, to tens of thousands of people every day, and creating many jobs to operate the kiosks: managers, hydrant men, hygiene service, administration, maintenance, sales, deliveries and other indirect jobs.

- Significant improvement in the general level of health of the populations with access to drinking water. Reduction of diseases related to the consumption of brackish, polluted or infected water, such as diarrhoea, one of the main causes of infant mortality. Reduction of absenteeism at work.

- Local elimination of energy-intensive water transport. Limitation of plastic waste by reusable water containers instead of disposable bottles. Use of solar energy to power the machines.

Two test machines in Pakistan in 2018.

2019

Renaud de Watteville is leaving Swiss Fresh Water to focus on his duties as President of the Access to Water Foundation. The Senegal water kiosks project is now managed exclusively by Swiss Fresh Water, while Access to Water develops new projects.

A new CEO (Thomas Gajan) is appointed at Swiss Fresh Water.

West Africa Water, a subsidiary of Swiss Fresh Water, is created in Senegal to accelerate the deployment of franchised water kiosks in urban and peri-urban areas, based on a viable and proven business model.

For the kiosks located in rural areas that require it, West Africa Water also offers subsidies to foundations, NGOs, international organizations and private companies as part of their Social and Environmental Responsibility actions.

Development of several pilot projects in new markets.

During the year 2019, more than 36 million litres of drinking water were produced and sold by the 140 franchised kiosks in Senegal.

PRESENT
TOP
en_USEnglish
fr_FRFrançais en_USEnglish

Historique de l'entreprise

2005

Renaud de Watteville et Jean-Francois Treyvaud développent un premier prototype d’une solution de traitement d’eau à un prix accessible et utilisable de façon décentralisée.

2008 - 2011

Création de Swiss Fresh Water SA. Entrée des premiers investisseurs. Collaboration avec l’atelier mécanique Hentsch et Bovey sur le développement machine.

2011

Les deux premières machines pilote sont installées au Sénégal. Le projet démarre et suscite le développement d’un modèle commercial adapté, qui concilie rentabilité économique, amélioration de la santé et du bien-être des populations locales, transfert de savoir-faire, et création d’emplois.

Production des 20 premières machines (Delta 2).

2012-2018

Déploiement des 20 premières machines au Sénégal dès 2012.

Développement de 3 nouvelles générations de machines (Delta 4, 5 et 6).

La fondation Access to Water est créée et les deux entités Access to Water et Swiss Fresh Water assurent conjointement le déploiement des kiosques à eau au Sénégal, avec un impact important :

- 30 millions de litres d’eau potabilisée et vendue en 2018, à des dizaines de milliers de personnes tous les jours, et créant de nombreuses places de travail pour faire fonctionner les kiosques : gérants, fontainiers, service d’hygiène, administration, maintenance, vente, livraisons et autres emplois indirects.

- Amélioration notable du niveau de santé général des populations ayant accès à l’eau potable. Réduction des maladies liées à la consommation d’eau saumâtre, polluée ou infectée, telle que la diarrhée, l’une des principales responsables de la mortalité infantile. Diminution de l’absentéisme au travail.

- Suppression locale des transports d’eau, coûteux en énergie. Limitation des déchets plastiques par l’usage de containers d’eau réutilisables en lieu et place de bouteilles jetables. Recours à l’énergie solaire pour l’alimentation des machines.

Deux machines tests au Pakistan en 2018.

2019

Renaud de Watteville quitte Swiss Fresh Water pour se concentrer sur ses fonctions de Président d’Access to Water. Le projet de kiosques à eau Sénégal est désormais géré exclusivement par Swiss Fresh Water, alors que la fondation Access to Water développe de nouveaux projets.

Un nouveau CEO (Thomas Gajan) est nommé chez Swiss Fresh Water.

West Africa Water, filiale de Swiss Fresh Water, est créée au Sénégal pour accélérer le déploiement des kiosques à eau franchisés en zones urbaines et péri-urbaines, sur un modèle économique viable et qui a fait ses preuves.

Pour les kiosques situés en zone rurale qui le nécessitent, West Africa Water propose par ailleurs une offre de subventionnement aux fondations, ONG, organisations internationales et sociétés privées dans le cadre de leurs actions de Responsabilité Sociale et Environnementale.

Développement de plusieurs projets pilote sur de nouveaux marchés.

En 2019, plus de 36 Millions de litres d'eau potable ont été produits et commercialisés par les 140 kiosques franchisés au Sénégal.

PRÉSENT
HAUT